Communication & Knowledge: the new IT revolution

Cloud Standards Coordination Phase 2

The context: Cloud Computing Standards and Europe

The European Commission adopted in September 2012 the Communication "Unleashing the potential of cloud computing in Europe" to stimulate the uptake of cloud computing to the benefit of European customers and providers. One of the three Key Actions proposed in the Communication focuses on standardisation.
  • Promote trusted and reliable cloud offerings by tasking ETSI to coordinate with stakeholders in a transparent and open way to identify by 2013 a detailed map of the necessary standards (inter alia for security, interoperability, data portability and reversibility).
  • Enhance trust in cloud computing services by recognising at EU-level technical specifications in the field of information and communication technologies for the protection of personal information in accordance with the new Regulation on European Standardisation.

Cloud Standards Coordination

In December 2012, the European Commission and the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) launched the Cloud Standardization Coordination (CSC) initiative.

The initiative was launched in response to a request to ETSI from the EC to coordinate with stakeholders in the cloud standards ecosystems and devise standards roadmaps in support of EU policy in critical areas such as security, interoperability, data portability and reversibility.

The CSC Phase 2 objectives

In February 2015, CSC Phase 2 of the work is launched, with the objective to provide 4 detailed report at the end of October 2015. These reports are available on the CSC Web site.

CSC Phase 2 has investigated some specific aspects of the Cloud Computing Standardization landscape, in particular from the point of view of Users (e.g. SMEs, Administrations). It has also generated a new “snapshot” of the state of standards.

CommLedge was the coordinator of the group and the editor of the reports.